Who the heck am I?

So maybe you are wondering who I am?  What kind of person writes a blog about being fat and loving yourself?  Who writes about obesity research and diet myths? Just who the hell do I think I am?

Well, for privacy reasons I’m not going to be sharing my real name (sorry not sorry).  I have a personal and professional life to consider, and there are waaaay too many haters out there.  No sense in making things any easier for them.  You can call me Mel if you’d rather have a name to put to the words!

As for me, I’m short (4’11”) and fat (221lbs).  I’m in my 30’s and happily childfree.  I’m bi, a feminist, and married.  I have 2 very spoiled cats, my favorite color is purple, and I am conversationally fluent in American Sign Language.  I’m also an artist and a writer.

I decided to start this blog as a way to share my views with the world.  I believe that speaking up is important, and in this day and age, the internet is the way to do that.

I believe in telling the truth about the 56 billion dollar diet industry.  I believe that body shaming is wrong, no matter what the body looks like.  I believe that everyone should have the freedom to do as they choose with their own body.  I believe that you can be healthy at every size and that happiness and good mental health are more indicative of good health than numbers on a scale.

I have only recently begun my journey towards better health, both physical and mental.  It is also a journey towards loving myself because of, rather than in spite of, the “flaws” that society tells me I should hide.

I invite you to join me.

Let’s share the journey.

Comment On This Post

